The NHF selection committee had the difficult task of choosing four winners from the outstanding pool of nominees submitted by the public.  The four winners exemplify the spirit of the Headache Hero award and go above and beyond to raise awareness, advocacy, and care for those living with migraine disease and headache disorders. The NHF will be honoring each of the winners during the 35th Annual Gala on Saturday, October 2, 2021, at the Langham Hotel in Chicago, IL.

Headache Heroes 2021

The healthcare provider winner is Jaclyn Duvall, MD, AQH, based in Tulsa, OK.  Dr. Duvall is a board-certified Neurologist and UCNS certified headache specialist with an Added Qualification in Headache Medicine from the National Headache Foundation. The patient winner is Evie Mohan from New York. Evie became inspired to advocate for disability rights after she was diagnosed with hemiplegic migraine disorder at the age of 11 in 2020. Evie has been working with her school on providing the accommodations she needs when she is experiencing a hemiplegic migraine. Katie MacDonald is the advocate winner. Based in Vermont, Katie is the Director of Operations for Miles for Migraine, Executive Director for the Alliance for Headache Disorders Advocacy, and she works tirelessly to ensure the success of Headache on the Hill. The caregiver winner is Chris Charrett-Dykes from Holtsville, NY. Chris has been by his wife’s side as she deals with chronic migraine.  Cat Charrett-Dykes, founder of Chronic Migraine Awareness, Inc., nominated her husband because of his unwavering support and assistance with her nonprofit organization. Cat stated that “Chris is my biggest fan even when I’m at my worst”.

We congratulate and thank the winners for all they are doing to support the migraine and headache community.