Healthcare Provider Finder

Resources > Headache Tools > Healthcare Provider Finder

Find Certified Providers

Information is available as a service to headache patients and their families. The National Headache Foundation does not endorse nor make any representations regarding any individual healthcare providers. All healthcare providers listed are verified physicians, and nurse practitioners.


Certificate of Added Qualification in Headache Medicine (CAQ) – Healthcare providers passed a multiple-choice exam. They are licensed healthcare providers who can evaluate and manage headache patients independently. This includes physicians (M.D. and D.O.), physician assistants, advance practice nurses, dentists, and psychologists.

United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) – Headache Medicine is a subspecialty of neurology and is concerned with the diagnosis and treatment of head and face pain. Patients affected by headache and face pain may seek help from multiple specialty areas. These include primary care (family practice, general internal medicine) and specialty care. Specialty care includes, but is not restricted to, neurology, neurosurgery, otolaryngology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, oromaxillofacial surgery, and psychiatry. For headache and face pain, the practitioner of Headache Medicine is often the principal care physician. They may render all levels of care commensurate with his or her training.

Contact Us

To Get Help Today